Book Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

alice-in-wonderland-book-cover

I only just read this. When I was a teenager, and really into smoking weed and taking magic mushrooms, I thought the Disney version of this was fuckin’ badass. I was all like, “OMG opium smoking caterpillars, this is so trippy and awesome.” But, I was a little dickweed back then and had absolutely no idea what the fuck was going on. Now that I’m older, I realise it’s actually about being a confused little kid trying to deal with the fact that the adult world is mean and arbitrary and violent, and childhood innocence is really precious and difficult to keep a hold of. Which makes me all sad and mournful about having grown up.

“‘Dear, dear! How queer everything is to-day! And yesterday things went on just as usual. I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think: was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is, Who in the world am I? Ah, THAT’S the great puzzle!'”

Leave a Reply

